I’ve been away from this blog for awhile. I have had other priorities and much upheaval in my life. I think it is time to begin again.

I have been knitting and crocheting little things for my soon to be born granddaughter. I finally get to make all the pretty little dresses and hats I’ve wanted to make but didn’t have a girl to make them for. Now we do!

I have been using the yarn left over from some of these things to make what I call my practical practice pieces. They are basically swatches, a practice piece to play with a pattern just to see what it looks like or to test out before committing to a whole big project. I’ve got a little stack of these practice pieces. I would like to share one of these pieces with you today.

I am calling this piece Wishy Washy because now that it is done I will be using it as a dishcloth. It is a fairly easy pattern. You only need to know how to knit and purl. Gauge doesn’t really matter. I used Knit Picks Comfy, a 75% Pima cotton and 25% acrylic sport weight yarn. I have also used the fingering weight Comfy and liked the way they feel and the way they work. I also made a sleeveless shell out of this yarn in sport weight and loved the results.

You might also need two stitch markers and a small safety pin or piece of different colored yarn to mark the right side of the piece. These will help you keep track of where you are in the pattern. So here goes.

WISHY WASHY PATTERN

