This past weekend I was looking through my old needlework journals. I was surprised to find some original patterns I had written that I had forgotten about. I guess I have been designing patterns for longer than I realized. Of course many of the items are long gone. Either they wore out, I gave them away as gifts, or they went to charity, during one move or another. I am going to work on some of the original patterns I had written years ago and possibly share them with you if I deem them worthy. Watch this space.

Another thing I realized as I looked through the older books is that when I first started all those many years ago, I was much better at noting what I had made, what needles or hooks I used and the material I had made them with. I even dated the entries. Most of them noted the source of the pattern and almost all of them at one point or another carried the disclaimer “made as written except…” because I can never leave well enough alone. I put my own stamp on it as I am sure many of you do as well.

After a while the entries got shorter and less specific about what I made or for that matter when! Some to the point where I haven’t the foggiest idea what I even made. There were entries like, ‘…made Mike a hat’ or ‘made Tim a raglan sweater’. No clue as what pattern, needles, yarn, etc. Many times there was not even a snippet of yarn to jog my memory as to what I had done. One of my husband’s favorite sweaters was a cobbled together mix of different patterns. I wish now I had written it out so I could recreate it. That was my original intent with keeping a journal in the first place, so patterns I wanted to make again could be easily found.

After all our moves, I don’t even have many of these patterns at all. In particular this last move when we were downsizing to our retirement home I got rid of a lot of pattern magazines, some of which I dearly wish I had kept. Of course, many of these journals were before computers and well before I found Ravelry.com (which by the way if you haven’t found as yet, go there and check it out. It’s free to join and puts you in contact with needle workers all over the world. My Ravelry name is GraniAni.

So lesson — be more specific about what I made, what needles or hooks I used, the source of the pattern and the yarn I used. Then if I want to recreate it, I have all the notes I need to do so. I should also keep the working copy of whatever pattern I used so that, if I make it again, I have the copy and any notes and highlights I made on that copy, as well. It would help a lot when trying to decide, for instance what size to make this time. ‘Did I make a size two or three for Aedyn?’ So even after 37 years of knitting, I still learn new things all the time.

Today I also want to share my new sock design. I call it “Itsy, bitsy spider socks”. I used slipped stitches with yarn held in front of the work, followed my a way to gather them together to form the legs of the spider and I used a bobble stitch to make the body. These are some socks to knit in time for Halloween.

While I don’t think this should be anyone’s first try at sock knitting it isn’t a difficult pattern to work. Gathering up the legs of the spider is a little fiddly, but not very difficult once you get the hang of it.

This pattern is very adaptable to make in a variety of ways, to place your own stamp of creativity on them. You could make green and black striped without the spiders, make the socks all green and the spiders in black or all black with green spiders would also be fun. You could also choose to place the spiders randomly. So have fun with them!

Download the pdf here!  ITSY, BITSY, SPIDER SOCKS

My newest original design.
My newest original design.
